Memorial Hall Library will close at 5pm Monday, July 3rd and remain closed Tuesday, July 4th for Independence Day.

Memorial Hall Library

Gardener connections

Why Organic?

Every garden counts. Your individual home landscape provides an opportunity to contribute positively to a more sustainable planet by using organic gardening principles. To that end, it’s worth spending some time to learn more about why you should consider the beneficial insects and pollinators when you plant your garden or install trees and shrubs in your home landscape. Here are some resources to help you get started. Happy gardening!
Ecological Landscape Alliance
Grow Native Massachusetts
Massachusetts Horticultural Society
Maine Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association
New England Wildflower Society
Northeast Organic Farming Association
UMassAmherst: The Center for Agriculture, Food and the Environment
Sign up for the UMass Extension Home Gardener Email List

Local Gardens & Garden Clubs

There’s a lot of gardening happening in our community. Here is a short list of some of the groups you may want to contact or join.
Andover Community Garden
Permaculture West Parish

Andover Garden Club
Spade and Trowel Garden Club
Village Garden Club of Andover

School Gardens & Outdoor Classroom Resources & Grant Opportunities

Andover High School Sustainable Garden
https://www.aginclassroom.org/
http://outdoor-classrooms.com/
https://sites.google.com/site/nationalschoolgardennetwork/home
http://www.massfarmtoschool.org/
https://edibleschoolyard.org/node/9791
https://www.wholekidsfoundation.org/resources/school-garden-resources/
http://www.qrsd.org/our-schools/high-school/extracurricular-activities/composting-and-organic-gardening/
http://quabbincompostingandgardening.org/
http://www.handstoearth.com/
http://thegreenteam.org/
http://www.msgn.org/
http://www.mastergardenerssandiego.org/schools/grants.php

http://www.childrenandnature.org/
http://learnaboutag.org/grants/other.cfm
https://www.learner.org/jnorth/monarch/News.html
https://bielecki-gs.wixsite.com/compost
 

Other Outdoor Education Connections

Habitat Education Center – Belmont - http://www.massaudubon.org/get-outdoors/wildlife-sanctuaries/habitat
MassAudubon (parent organization) - http://www.massaudubon.org/
Ipswich River Wildlife Sanctuary - http://www.massaudubon.org/get-outdoors/wildlife-sanctuaries/ipswich-river
Broad Meadow Brook – Worcester - http://www.massaudubon.org/get-outdoors/wildlife-sanctuaries/broad-meadow-brook
Drumlin Farm - Lincoln - http://www.massaudubon.org/get-outdoors/wildlife-sanctuaries/drumlin-farm
Discovery Museums - Acton - http://www.discoverymuseums.org/
Tower Hill Botanic Garden - Boylston - http://www.towerhillbg.org/
Nature's Classroom - Charlton - http://www.naturesclassroom.org/Charlton.htm
Essex County Greenbelt - http://www.ecga.org/
Trustees of Reservations - http://www.thetrustees.org
Appleton Farms - Ipswich - https://www.facebook.com/appletonfarms/
Gaining Ground - Lincoln - http://gainingground.org
Nashua River Watershed Association - Groton - http://www.nashuariverwatershed.org
Growing Places – Leominster - http://growingplaces.org/
The Farm School – Athol - http://farmschool.org/
Mount Grace Land Conservation Trust – Athol - http://www.mountgrace.org/
Mill City Grows – Lowell - http://www.millcitygrows.org/
Hitchcock Center for the Environment – Amherst - http://www.hitchcockcenter.org/
Project Adventure – Beverly - http://www.pa.org/
Harvard Forest – Petersham - http://harvardforest.fas.harvard.edu/schoolyard-lter-program
Osprey Sea Kayak Adventures – Westport - http://ospreyseakayak.com/
Jessica Kagle, Kestrel Educational Ventures: https://www.guidestar.org/profile/06-1703921
WBUR had a piece about outdoor education: http://www.wbur.org/hereandnow/2016/10/04/outdoor-schools