The Library is open for limited services. Online resources, including downloadable books & movies, are available 24/7.
Contact the library through our chat service. You can also email us at rdesk@mhl.org or send a text to 978-315-6123.

The Library closes at 4pm on Wednesday, November 25th & remains closed November 26th & 27th for Thanksgiving.

Memorial Hall Library

Virtual Local Author Talk: Kristin Bair (O'Keeffe)

Tuesday, December 1, 2020 - 7:00pm

Join us for a conversation with local writer, Kristin Bair (O’Keeffe), during which she will discuss her new novel, Agatha Arch is Afraid of Everything, parenting in a pandemic, the writing process, facing our fears, Facebook mom groups, and more.

Register through Zoom. Order a signed copy of the book through Andover Bookstore.

About The Author: Kristin Bair’s new novel, Agatha Arch Is Afraid of Everything, received a starred review in Publishers Weekly. Booklist called it “hilarious.” As Kristin Bair O’Keeffe, she has published two novels, The Art of Floating and Thirsty. Her words have appeared in the Gettysburg Review, Flyway: Journal of Writing and Environment, Writers Digest, and many other publications. As a writing instructor, her peripatetic nature has landed her in classrooms and conferences around the world. A native Pittsburgher, Kristin now lives north of Boston with her husband and two kiddos.

About The Book: A quirky, nervous wreck of a New England mom must face her very long list of fears in Agatha Arch is Afraid of Everything (Alcove Press), perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is completely fine. Agatha Arch's life shatters when she discovers her husband in their backyard shed, in flagrante delicto, giving the local dog walker some heavy petting. Suddenly, Agatha finds herself face to face with everything that frightens her...and that's a loooooong list. Agatha keeps those she loves close. Everyone else, she keeps as far away as possible. So she's a mystery to nearly everyone in her New England town. To her husband, she's a saucy, no-B.S. writer. To her Facebook Moms group, she's a provocateur. To her neighbor, she's a standoffish pain in the butt. To her sons, she's chocolate pudding with marshmallows. And to her shrink, she's a bundle of nerves on the brink of a cataclysmic implosion. Defying her abundant assortment of anxieties, Agatha dons her "spy pants"--a pair of khakis whose many pockets she crams with binoculars, fishing line, scissors, flashlight, a Leatherman Super Tool 300 EOD, candy, and other espionage essentials--and sets out to spy on her husband and the dog walker. Along the way, she finds another intriguing target to follow: a mysterious young woman who's panhandling on the busiest street in town. It's all a bit much for timorous Agatha. But with the help of her Bear Grylls bobblehead, a trio of goats, and a dog named Balderdash, Agatha may just find the courage to build a better life.

“If Bernadette joined the cast of Dead to Me and moved to New England, the result would be Agatha Arch is Afraid of Everything. With whip smart writing and a quotable line on every page, Bair creates an unforgettable character to act on our most hilariously sinister thoughts. When times are tough, let Agatha Arch have any meltdown you’re repressing in this cathartic and unexpectedly poignant read.”
—Michelle Gable, New York Times bestselling author

“A modern moms’-group morality tale with heart to spare, Agatha Arch Is Afraid of Everything is charming, witty, wry, and just wicked enough for any reader to love.”
—Sophie Littlefield, national bestselling author of That’s What Frenemies Are For

"Fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette and Elinor Oliphant Is Completely Fine will love this clever romp."
Publishers Weekly, starred review

randomness