Memorial Hall Library

In the Spotlight

May 2022 Mid-Month Sudoku

If you're having trouble solving this month's puzzle, why not learn to use C# to build your own code for solving Sudokus?  Okay, maybe that's the long way around!  But if you do want to learn to code--or if you're...

Read more
Friday the 13th

Friday the 13th

Eek, it's Friday the 13th! If you want to lean in and embrace the spooky date, here are 13 recent adult horror novels you might want to check out.

2022 Asian Pacific American Literature Award Winners

2022 Asian/Pacific American Literature Awards

Each year the Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association honors books for all ages about Asian/Pacific American life and heritage. Since May is Asian American/Pacific Islander Heritage Month, that makes it an...

Read more
May the 4th Be With You

May the Fourth Be With You

Fans of Star Wars, May the Force be with you--and also these Star Wars books for readers of all ages.

May 2022 Puzzle: Dumb Bike Joke

We're getting into some fine bike-riding weather! Did you know that bicycles are considered one of the most efficient human transportation machines ever made, not to mention environmentally friendly? That's assuming that they're working, though. If your bike needs some attention and getting to...

Read more

Shelf Help Podcast Episode 23: Music in the Library

Curious about how the library makes purchases for the music collection? Want to learn about some new CDs that staff has been listening to lately? Did you know that we circulate ukuleles?! Learn all about MHL's various music collections in this episode of MHL's Shelf Help podcast. Get it at...

Read more
Books for Fans of Our Flag Means Death

Books for Fans of Our Flag Means Death

Are you a fan of HBO Max's new series Our Flag Means Death? If you are, chances are you're looking for more stories that are queer, about pirates, or both. We've got you covered with these YA and adult books (and one other TV show). If you don't have HBO Max but want to watch this show, the bad...

Read more
April Is Sexual Assault Awareness Month

April Is Sexual Assault Awareness Month

April is National Sexual Assault Awareness Month. We stand with and support survivors of sexual assault, and are sharing these memoirs written by survivors of sexual assault. For free, confidential help relating to sexual assault recovery,...

Read more

Born to Run

The 126th Boston Marathon will be held on Monday, April 18th. MHL will be closed on both Sunday, April 17th and Monday, April 18th, so if you want to read any of these books about running, you'd better run in on Saturday, when we will be open our...

Read more

April 2022 Mid-Month Sudoku

Whether you've received a BA in math, like the presenter of our upcoming Zoom program on women at NASA, or whether your Sudoku credentials come from another source, we hope you enjoy this month's Sudoku--no math required!

Pages

randomness